2024 Philip K. Dick Award Winner Announced

It was announced on Friday, March 29, 2024 at Norwescon 46 in SeaTac, Washington, that the winner for the distinguished original science fiction paperback published for the first time during 2023 in the U.S.A. is:

THESE BURNING STARS by Bethany Jacobs (Orbit)

Special citation was given to:

THE MUSEUM OF HUMAN HISTORY by Rebekah Bergman (Tin House)

The Philip K. Dick Award is presented annually with the support of the Philip K. Dick Trust for distinguished science fiction published in paperback original form in the United States. The award is sponsored by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society and the award ceremony is sponsored by Norwescon. The 2023 award was given to THE EXTRACTIONIST by Kimberly Unger (Tachyon Publications) with a special citation to THE LEGACY OF MOLLY SOUTHBOURNE by Tade Thompson (Tordotcom).

The year’s judges for the 2024 award were Nicky Drayden, Gordon Eklund, Christopher Rowe, Kali Wallace (chair), and Lisa Yaszek.

This year’s judges are: Maurice Broaddus, C. S. Friedman, Rajan Khanna, Carol McGuirk, and Carrie Vaughn.

The virtual award ceremony can be found online.

For more information, contact the award administration:

Gordon Van Gelder (201) 876-2551
John Silbersack john@thebentagency.com
Pat LoBrutto pjlobrutto@gmail.com

For more information about the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society contact Gary Feldbaum (215) 665-5752

For more information about Norwescon: https://www.norwescon.org/

Norwescon uses Accessibility Checker to monitor our website's accessibility. Read our Accessibility Policy.