2023 Philip K. Dick Award Winner Announced

It was announced on Friday, April 7, 2023 at Norwescon 45 in SeaTac, Washington, that the winner for the distinguished original science fiction paperback published for the first time during 2022 in the U.S.A. is:

THE EXTRACTIONIST by Kimberly Unger (Tachyon Publications)

Special citation was given to:

THE LEGACY OF MOLLY SOUTHBOURNE by Tade Thompson (Tordotcom)

The Philip K. Dick Award is presented annually with the support of the Philip K. Dick Trust for distinguished science fiction published in paperback original form in the United States. The award is sponsored by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society and the award ceremony is sponsored by Norwescon. The 2022 award was given to DEAD SPACE by Kali Wallace (Berkley Books) with a special citation to THE ESCAPEMENT by Lavie Tidhar (Tachyon Publications).

The year’s judges for the 2023 award were Michael Cassutt (chair), Matthew Goodwin, Stina Leicht, and Elise C. Tobler.

This year’s judges are: Nicky Drayden, Gordon Eklund, Christopher Rowe, Kali Wallace, and Lisa Yaszek.

The virtual award ceremony can be found online at Norwescon’s Philip K. Dick Award page.

For more information, contact the award administration:
Gordon Van Gelder (201) 876-2551
John Silbersack (347) 787-7445
Pat LoBrutto (301) 460-3164

For more information about the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society, https://psfs.org/
Contact Gary Feldbaum (215) 665-5752

For more information about Norwescon: https://www.norwescon.org/

Norwescon uses Accessibility Checker to monitor our website's accessibility. Read our Accessibility Policy.