2021 Philip K. Dick Award Winner Announced

This entry was published on April 3, 2021 and may be out of date. For the most current information on this year's Norwescon, please see our most recent blog posts. Thank you!

It was announced on Friday, April 2, 2021 at Norwescon 43, in (virtual) SeaTac, Washington, that the winner for the distinguished original science fiction paperback published for the first time during 2020 in the U.S.A. is:

ROAD OUT OF WINTER by Alison Stine (Mira)

Special citation was given to:

THE BOOK OF KOLI by M. R. Carey (Orbit)

The Philip K. Dick Award is presented annually with the support of the Philip K. Dick Trust for distinguished science fiction published in paperback original form in the United States. The award is sponsored by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society and the award ceremony is sponsored by the NorthWest Science Fiction Society. The 2020 award was given to SOONER OR LATER EVERYTHING FALLS INTO THE SEA: STORIES by Sarah Pinsker (Small Beer Press) with a special citation to THE LITTLE ANIMALS by Sarah Tolmie (Aqueduct Press).

The judges for the 2020 award were F. Brett Cox, Brendan A. DuBois, Cynthia Felice, Tim Pratt, and Jessica Reisman (chair).

This year’s judges are John P. Murphy, Kelly Robson, David Sandner, Allen Steele, and Molly Tanzer.

The virtual award ceremony can be found online at: https://www.norwescon.org/con/p-k-dick-award/

For more information, contact the award administration:

Gordon Van Gelder (201) 876-2551
John Silbersack (347) 787-7445
Pat LoBrutto (301) 460-3164

For more information about the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society, http://www.psfs.org/:

Contact Gary Feldbaum (215) 665-5752

For more information about Norwescon: https://www.norwescon.org/:

NorthWest SF Society: info@norwescon.org

Norwescon uses Accessibility Checker to monitor our website's accessibility. Read our Accessibility Policy.