Norwescon to stream Philip K. Dick Award Ceremony

This entry was published on March 1, 2012 and may be out of date. For the most current information on this year's Norwescon, please see our most recent blog posts. Thank you!

Norwescon will provide live access to the Philip K. Dick Award Ceremony on Friday, April 6, 2012, beginning at 6:55 p.m. Pacific Daylight Time. Individuals and groups wishing to view the ceremony should access the P.K. Dick Awards USTREAM channel at the time of the event.

The Philip K. Dick Award is presented annually with the support of the Philip K. Dick Trust for distinguished science fiction books published in paperback original form for the first time in the United States. The award is sponsored by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society and the Philip K. Dick Trust and the ceremony is sponsored by the Northwest Science Fiction Society and held annually at Norwescon.

The nominated works for 2011 are:

A SOLDER’S DUTY by Jean Johnson (Ace Books)
AFTER THE APOCALYPSE by Maureen F. McHugh (Small BeerPress)
DEADLINE by Mira Grant (Orbit)
THE COMPANY MAN by Robert Jackson Bennett (Orbit)
THE OTHER by Matthew Hughes (Underland Press)
THE POSTMORTAL by Drew Magary (Penguin Books)

Last year’s winner was THE STRANGE AFFAIR OF SPRING HEELED JACK by Mark Hodder (Pyr) with a special citation to HARMONY by Project Itoh (Haikasoru). The ceremony was recorded during streaming and may be viewed at this USTREAM archive page. The 2011 judges are Scott Baker (chair), Mark Budz, Roby James, Darrell Schweitzer, Alice K. Turner.

For more information, contact the award administration:
David G. Hartwell (914) 769-5545.
Gordon Van Gelder (201) 876-2551

For more information about the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society:
Contact Gary Feldbaum (215) 665-5752

For more information about the Philip K. Dick Trust:

For more information about Norwescon:
Contact Northwest Science Fiction Society: (425) 686-9737

Norwescon uses Accessibility Checker to monitor our website's accessibility. Read our Accessibility Policy.