NWC35 Volunteer Appreciation Picnic

The NWC34 Volunteer Appreciation Picnic

Our annual Volunteer Appreciation Picnic comes this summer (Saturday, August 4th, 2012, Noon until 5pm, at North SeaTac Park)! Did you volunteer for Norwescon 35, either as ConCom or by stopping by Volunteers during the con? Then you’re invited! Are you interested in volunteering for Norwescon 36? Well, you’re invited too!

Philip K. Dick Award Winner Announced

Philip K. Dick Awards c/o PO Box 3447 Hoboken, NJ 07030 (201) 876-2551 www.philipkdickaward.org April 6, 2012 For Immediate Release 2012 Philip K. Dick Award Winner Announced It was announced on Friday, April 6, at Norwescon 35, in SeaTac, Washington, that the winner for the distinguished original science fiction paperback published for the first time … Read more

Hugo Award Nominee Announcement

The 2012 Hugo Award nominees will be announced simultaneously at five conventions in the United States and Europe on April 7. Arrangements are also being made to broadcast all five convention presentations via Ustream.

This is the fourth consecutive year Worldcon members have cast a record-breaking number of Hugo nominating ballots. Chicon 7 received 1,101 nominating ballots, exceeding the 1,006 received by Renovation last year. Prior to that Aussiecon 4 received 864 in 2010 and Anticipation received 799 in 2009, each a record-setting figure at the time.

Conventions taking part in the announcement are:

  • Norwescon 35, a Pacific Northwest sf convention, at Seatac, WA (1 p.m. PDT)
  • Leprecon 38, an annual Arizona sf convention, at Tempe, AZ (1 p.m. MST)
  • Minicon 47, Minnesota’s longest-running sf con, at Bloomington, MN (3 p.m. CDT)
  • Marcon 47, an annual Midwest sf con, at Columbus, OH (4 p.m. EDT).
  • Olympus 2012, the British Eastercon, (9 p.m. BST).

The final ballot voting deadline will be July 31, 2012, midnight PDT. The winners will be announced at the Hugo Awards Ceremony on Sunday, September 2.

The full press release from Chicon 7 follows the jump.

Read more