2014 Philip K. Dick Award Nominees Announced

This entry was published on January 8, 2015 and may be out of date. For the most current information on this year's Norwescon, please see our most recent blog posts. Thank you!

The judges of the 2014 Philip K. Dick Award and the Philadelphia SF Society, along with the Philip K. Dick Trust, are pleased to announce six nominated works that comprise the final ballot for the award:

ELYSIUM by Jennifer Marie Brissett (Aqueduct Press)
THE BOOK OF THE UNNAMED MIDWIFE by Meg Elison (Sybaritic Press)
MEMORY OF WATER by Emmi Itäranta (Harper Voyager)
REACH FOR INFINITY edited by Jonathan Strahan (Solaris)

First prize and any special citations will be announced on Friday, April 3, 2015 at Norwescon 38 at the DoubleTree by Hilton Seattle Airport, SeaTac, Washington.

The Philip K. Dick Award is presented annually with the support of the Philip K. Dick Trust for distinguished science fiction published in paperback original form in the United States.  The award is sponsored by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society and the Philip K. Dick Trust and the award ceremony is sponsored by the Northwest Science Fiction Society.  Last year’s winner was COUNTDOWN CITY by Ben H. Winters (Quirk Books) with a special citation to SELF-REFERENCE ENGINE by Toh EnJoe (Haikasoru). The 2014 judges are Jon Armstrong, Ritchie Calvin, Ellen Klages, Laura J. Mixon (chair), and Michaela Roessner.

For more information, contact the award administration:

  • Pat Lo Brutto (301) 460-3164
  • John Silbersack (212) 333-1513
  • Gordon Van Gelder (201) 876-2551

For more information about the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society, http://www.psfs.org/:

  • Contact Gary Feldbaum (215) 665-5752

For more information about the Philip K. Dick Trust: www.philipkdick.com

For more information about Norwescon:  https://www.norwescon.org/: (425) 243-4692

Norwescon uses Accessibility Checker to monitor our website's accessibility. Read our Accessibility Policy.