2014 Philip K. Dick Award Winner Announced

Norwescon Executive TeamBlog, Norwescon 37, Philip K. Dick Awards

It was announced on Friday, April 18, at Norwescon 37, in SeaTac, Washington, that the winner for the distinguished original science fiction paperback published for the first time during 2013 in the U.S.A. is:

Ben H. Winters

Ben H. Winters, author of Countdown City, winner of the 2014 P.K. Dick Award

COUNTDOWN CITY by Ben H. Winters (Quirk Books)

Special citation was given to:

SELF-REFERENCE ENGINE by Toh EnJoe, translated by Terry Gallagher (Haikasoru)

The Philip K. Dick Award is presented annually with the support of the Philip K. Dick Trust for distinguished science fiction published in paperback original form in the United States. The award is sponsored by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society and the Philip K. Dick Trust and the award ceremony is sponsored by the NorthWest Science Fiction Society. The 2013 award was given to LOST EVERYTHING by Brian Francis Slattery (Tor Books) with a special citation given to LOVESTAR by Andri Snær Magnason (Seven Stories Press). The judges for the 2014 Award were Elizabeth Bear (chair), Siobhan Carroll, Michael Kandel, Jamil Nasir, and Tim Sullivan.

Toh EnJoe

Toh EnJoe, author of Self-Reference Engine, winner of the 2014 P.K. Dick Special Citation Award

This year’s judges are Jon Armstrong, Ritch Calvin, Ellen Klages, Laura J. Mixon, and Michaela Roessner,

For more information, contact the award administration:

Gordon Van Gelder (201) 876-2551
John Silbersack (212) 333-1513
Pat Lo Brutto (301) 460-3164

For more information about the Philip K. Dick Trust: http://www.philipkdick.com

For more information about the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society, http://www.psfs.org/
Contact Gary Feldbaum (215) 665-5752

For more information about Norwescon: https://www.norwescon.org/
Contact NorthWest SF Society: (425) 686-9737