Philip K. Dick Award



The Philip K. Dick Award is presented annually with the support of the Philip K. Dick Trust for distinguished science fiction published in paperback original form in the United States.  The award is sponsored by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society and the Philip K. Dick Trust and the award ceremony is sponsored by the NorthWest Science Fiction Society.  Last year’s winner was NOVA SWING by M. John Harrison (Bantam Spectra) with a special citation to FROM THE NOTEBOOKS OF DR. BRAIN by Minister Faust (Del Rey).  The 2008 judges are Tobias Buckell, M. M. Buckner (chair), Walter Hunt, Rosemary Kirstein, and William Senior.


First prize and any special citations will be announced on Friday, April 10, 2009 at Norwescon 32 at the Doubletree Seattle Airport Hotel, SeaTac, Washington.


The nominees for 2008 are:


EMISSARIES FROM THE DEAD by Adam-Troy Castro (Eos Books)
FAST FORWARD 2 edited by Lou Anders (Pyr)
JUDGE by Karen Traviss (Eos Books)
PLAGUE WAR by Jeff Carlson (Ace Books)
TERMINAL MIND by David Walton (Meadowhawk Press)
TIME MACHINES REPAIRED WHILE-U-WAIT by K. A. Bedford (EDGE Science Fiction and Fantasy Publishing)


The judges for the 2009 Philip K. Dick award will be:


Daniel Abraham (chair)

5925 Woodford Dr NE

Albuquerque, NM  87110-1225


Eileen Gunn

525 19th Ave E

Seattle, WA  98112-4006

Karen Hellekson
16 Rolling Rdg
Jay, ME 04239-7038


Elaine Isaak

34 Hardy Road

Bedford, NH  03110-4914


Marc Laidlaw

15510 NE 153rd St.

Woodinville, WA 98072-8125


For more information, contact the award administration:

David G. Hartwell (914) 769-5545.

Gordon Van Gelder (201) 876-2551


For more information about the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society

Contact Gary Feldbaum (215) 563-2511


For more information about the Philip K. Dick Trust:


Philip K. Dick Awards

c/o 153 Deerfield Lane

Pleasantville, NY 10570

(914) 769-5545



Previous years winners.