2023 Philip K. Dick Award Nominees Announced

This entry was published on January 12, 2023 and may be out of date. For the most current information on this year's Norwescon, please see our most recent blog posts. Thank you!

The judges of the 2023 Philip K. Dick Award and the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society, along with the Philip K. Dick Trust, are pleased to announce the six nominated works that comprise the final ballot for the award:

ARBOREALITY by Rebecca Campbell (Stelliform Press)
WIDOWLAND by C. J. Carey (Sourcebooks Landmark)
YMIR by Rich Larson (Orbit)
JANUARY FIFTEENTH by Rachel Swirsky (Tordotcom)
THE LEGACY OF MOLLY SOUTHBOURNE by Tade Thompson (Tordotcom)
THE EXTRACTIONIST by Kimberly Unger (Tachyon Publications)

First prize and any special citations will be announced on Friday, April 7, 2023 at Norwescon 45. Plans for the ceremony will be posted at https://www.norwescon.org.

The Philip K. Dick Award is presented annually with the support of the Philip K. Dick Trust for distinguished science fiction published in paperback original form in the United States during the previous calendar year. The award is sponsored by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society and the Philip K. Dick Trust and the award ceremony is sponsored by the Northwest Science Fiction Society.    Last year’s winner was DEAD SPACE by Kali Wallace (Berkley Books) with a special citation to THE ESCAPEMENT by Lavie Tidhar (Tachyon Publications). The 2022 judges are Michael Cassutt (Chair), Matthew Goodwin, Stina Leicht, and Elise C. Tobler.

For more information, contact the award administration:
Gordon Van Gelder (201) 876-2551
John Silbersack (347) 787-7445
Pat LoBrutto (301) 460-3164

For more information about the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society, http://www.psfs.org/ : Contact Gary Feldbaum (215) 665-5752

For more information about Norwescon:    https://www.norwescon.org/

Norwescon uses Accessibility Checker to monitor our website's accessibility. Read our Accessibility Policy.