2022 Philip K. Dick Award Nominees Announced

This entry was published on January 11, 2022 and may be out of date. For the most current information on this year's Norwescon, please see our most recent blog posts. Thank you!

The judges of the 2022 Philip K. Dick Award and the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society, along with the Philip K. Dick Trust, are pleased to announce the six nominated works that comprise the final ballot for the award:

DEFEKT by Nino Cipri (Tordotcom Publishing)
PLAGUE BIRDS by Jason Sanford (Apex Book Company)
BUG by Giacomo Sartori, translated by Frederika Randall (Restless Books)
FAR FROM THE LIGHT OF HEAVEN by Tade Thompson (Orbit)
THE ESCAPEMENT by Lavie Tidhar (Tachyon Publications)
DEAD SPACE by Kali Wallace (Berkley Books)

First prize and any special citations will be announced on Friday, April 15, 2022 at Norwescon 44. Plans for the ceremony will be posted at https://www.norwescon.org.

The Philip K. Dick Award is presented annually with the support of the Philip K. Dick Trust for distinguished science fiction published in paperback original form in the United States during the previous calendar year. The award is sponsored by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society and the Philip K. Dick Trust and the award ceremony is sponsored by the Northwest Science Fiction Society.

Last year’s winner was ROAD OUT OF WINTER by Alison Stine (Mira) with a special citation to THE BOOK OF KOLI by M. R. Carey (Orbit).

The 2021 judges are John P. Murphy, Kelly Robson, David Sandner, Allen Steele, and Molly Tanzer (Chair).

For more information, contact the award administration:
Gordon Van Gelder (201) 876-2551
John Silbersack (347) 787-7445
Pat LoBrutto (301) 460-3164

For more information about the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society, contact Gary Feldbaum (215) 665-5752

For more information about Norwescon: NorthWest SF Society: info@norwescon.org

Norwescon uses Accessibility Checker to monitor our website's accessibility. Read our Accessibility Policy.