Norwescon 31 March 2008
Search the Norwescon web site

Philip K. Dick Memorial Award

Philip K. Dick Awards
c/o 153 Deerfield Lane
Pleasantville, NY 10570
(914) 769-5545

March 21, 2008

2007 Philip K. Dick Award Winner Announced

It was announced today at Norwescon 31, in SeaTac, Washington, that the winner for the distinguished original science fiction paperback published for the first time during 2007 in the U.S.A. is:

           NOVA SWING by M. John Harison (Bantam Spectra)

Special citation was given to:

           FROM THE NOTEBOOKS OF DR. BRAIN by Minister Faust (Del Rey)

Both winners received a cash prize. The Philip K. Dick Award is presented annually with the support of the Philip K. Dick Trust for distinguished science fiction published in paperback original form in the United States. The award is sponsored by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society and the award ceremony is sponsored by the NorthWest Science Fiction Society. The 2006 award was given to SPIN CONTROL by Chris Moriarty (published by Bantam Spectra) and a special citation was awarded to CARNIVAL by Elizabeth Bear (published by Bantam Spectra). This year's judges were Steve Miller, Chris Moriarty (chair), Steven Piziks, Randy Schroeder, and Ann Tonsor Zeddies.

The judges for next year's award are Tobias Buckell, M. M. Buckner, Walter Hunt, Rosemary Kirstein, and William Senior.

For more information, contact the award administration:
                                                     David G. Hartwell (914) 769-5545.
                                                     Gordon Van Gelder (201) 876-2551

For more information about the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society,
                                                     Contact Gary Feldbaum (215) 563-2511

For more information about Norwescon:
                                                     Contact NorthWest SF Society: (360) 438-0871

2006 Winner information